My Garden of Eden

So today, I want to update everyone on the progress of my greenhouse. I have decided that my GardenTenders blog will be where all the info on the greenhouse will be.

Since the base of the greenhouse will be 2×4’s, which have not been treated, I had to come up with a plan to protect the wood from the soil, water and rotting. Originally, I was going to buy cedar 2×4s, about $8.00 USD for an 8 foot 2×4. I decided that since I already had a lot of 2×4s, that was not a good idea. I am now planning on putting cement patio stone blocks 8”W x 16”L x 2”H as a base for the greenhouse. I am thinking it will provide enough flexibility so I can put in tie downs to hold the greenhouse in place. I anticipate that I will need about 27 of these blocks and I have about 24 of these on hand, so the solution to the problem seems to be solved.

Next on building the sidewalls, how was I going to join the 2×4s together. Since I lacked an air compressor, an air gun seemed out of the question. I build many things with the Kreg Pocket Hole Jig, so that is my answer. The pocket hole screws go into the wood at an angle which is perfect for framing construction. Each Joint will have three screws, one centered on one side of the 2×4 and on the other side will be 2 more screws located toward the edge of the wood. This should create a a strong joint. I am not using the HD screws which are a bit heavier, but am using 2 1/2” coated pocket hole screws with coarse thread for exterior use.

Layout of the side walls. Two will be required.

List of Materials
4 – 2×4 8 foot at $3.10 Each = $12.40
10 – 2×4 32 inches at $1.03 Each = $10.30
60 2 1/2” Exterior Pocket Hole Screws at $0.1096 Each = $6.58
Total cost of side walls = $29.28

Prices per Lowes. Price of 2×4s is premium quality.

The side walls are made and waiting to be set up.

— Steve, Carmel, Maine, USA (near Bangor) (Hardiness Zone 5a)

Leave a comment